消费品

概述

消费品公司覆盖的产品类别较广,并呈现多种形态和规模。此类企业可能涉及多个品牌或部门、目标消费群体、地域和分销渠道,因此较为复杂,要作出战略性决策,通常具有一定的挑战性。以下的市场因素值得考虑:

  • 市场渠道类型正面临大规模的颠覆性变化。电子商务渗透率不断增加、电商和O2O巨头,比如亚马逊、支付宝、腾讯和京东愈加强大、商业模式不断被颠覆、人口结构变化、消费热点的更新、消费者信息丰富且维权意识增强、科技高速发展(例如增强现实技术“AR”和虚拟现实技术“VR”)。
  • 渠道的格局也在不断变化,这迫使许多消费者品牌重新调整其市场营销策略,从更少的分销点中提高生产力,并制定直接面向消费者的策略,然而公司内部往往不具备制定此类策略的能力和专业知识。
  • 品牌地位和影响力也不断演变。如今,消费者愈发青睐能够满足精准需求并且真实可靠的“专业”品牌,从而更少地“允许”品牌在其核心之外拓展外延。强力品牌的吸引力已经减弱,替而代之的独创品牌和其他价值品牌的流行为消费者们降低消费时带来了更多的选择。这使得任何品牌消费品公司都有必要认真审视自己的品牌定位,确保定位是适当的且具有吸引力。

艾意凯结合深厚的行业专业知识、基于事实的见解和先进的分析手段,找出解决复杂问题的方法,帮助管理层树立信心,在充分知情的状况下采取战略行动。消费品公司与我们合作,制定战略推动公司发展,创造竞争优势,发掘创造利润和价值的机会,降低风险。我们的方法非常客观且以事实为基础,但我们也特别在意让管理团队在适当的时候参与整个过程,以确保项目方向保持完全一致。

我们如何提供帮助

不论是小型新兴品牌,还是大型全球企业,消费品公司通常就以下方面求助于我们:

  • 加速增长:我们的核心重点在于增长战略,在引导消费品公司选择正确的增长方向,激活战略以带来实际成果方面成绩显赫。我们可以采用不同策略应对这一挑战:例如,根据 Edge Strategy®(边缘优势战略)和战略市场定位原则对机会进行评估,根据对消费者心理和行为方面的深入研究和品牌定位明确定义具有最高战略价值的“许可”领域、严谨的市场演化框架,以及商业案例和场景分析。
  • 确定品牌定位和战略:我们认为应制定消费者驱动型战略——必须以对主要目标消费者群体的价值观念、消费行为和消费动机的全面了解为依据:他们重视什么,他们在购买过程中有何表现,他们决策的驱动因素是什么。牢牢地瞄准你的目标消费者来进行品牌定位,并由此出发使用正确的方式推进。我们具备深度分析能力和多年的行业经验,因而能够为客户提供正确的战略框架和指导,帮助他们正确聚焦品牌,创造更高的价值。
  • 制定合适的渠道策略:通过明确定义每个细分渠道的作用、规则和相关策略,我们帮助客户解决这个非常复杂的问题。在这一过程中,我们为客户提供多方面的渠道策略,包括是否应该采纳某一渠道、如何提高各分销点的销售额和利润效率、根据传统渠道和数字渠道的发展情况对分销进行重组、改善分销商和市场策略、制定或重新调整直接面对消费者的DTC营销策略、定义整体的数字和电子商务策略。
  • 实现创造价值的交易:在交易周期的各阶段(从评估、尽职调查、整合到增长规划),我们均为客户提供支持。我们已帮助消费品客户完成了价值数十亿美元的交易,包括兼并和收购、合资、伙伴关系,以及资产剥离。

成功案例

我们已帮助众多公司实现盈利增长、获得丰厚回报。

  • 转型增长战略:一家不含麸质食品的制造商需要发掘其真正的市场机会,并制定如何迅速实现增长、创造最大价值的战略规划。艾意凯结合基于事实的分析和深厚的行业知识,明确可获取的的市场机会,并制定策略,推动该组织在其旧有思维模式考虑的范围之外寻求成长机会。我们所定义的增长路径打开了一个基于新品类和渠道拓展(转型至自然渠道之外,进入大型传统渠道)的巨大但又完全切实可行、合理的增长机会。 考虑到内在固有的复杂性和风险,这种方法微妙而又精确,最终使得该公司的估值增加了500%,而该品牌也成为美国发展最快的食品品牌。
  • 产品创新:一家领先的特色床垫制造商需要开发强有力的拉动型品牌吸引消费者,以夺回市场份额。艾意凯基于广泛的消费者调查、访谈、焦点小组和联合分析等缜密的消费者研究,对消费者的期望和需求进行了大量消费者驱动型探索。我们与客户合作,以建立新的产品概念。我们进一步与广告公司合作,以建立明确的品牌承诺和相关的品牌战略和活动。我们还针对市场上经销商的经济利益建立了精确的模型,由此可以直接导出新产品渠道推出顺序和渠道谈判策略。新开发的产品已被视为行业内重要的“市场赢家
  • 消费者导向的增长战略:一家成熟的全球鞋业公司委托艾意凯协助制定其旗舰品牌的增长战略。需解决的问题是:该品牌是否已达到顶峰而应最大限度地“榨取剩余价值,或者是否仍存在实质性的发展道路而应得到大力投入。我们对消费者进行了深入的调查,以定义市场上相关的消费者群体,并精准地确定客户如何依据关键细分市场对品牌进行定位,何处存在可被纠正的品牌错配,以及关键细分市场上何处存在以及存在多少增长机会。我们还优先考虑了应该采取的关键成长手段。通过我们所做的工作,整个公司对消费者有了统一的认识为制定增长计划铺平了道路。该计划推动了进一步的投资,使该品牌成为行业中的顶级成长品牌之一。
  • 定价和促销策略:一家领先的维生素、矿物质和补充剂公司需要重新考虑其定价和促销策略。他们现有的定价策略完全不一致,而且公司的总体策略和市场定价方法之间没有明确的联系。此外,其在市场上大量依赖促销,不能向消费者传递明确信息。艾意凯与客户跨职能团队开展紧密合作,并采用深度数据分析以及竞争力和渠道分析来解决一系列的定价问题。我们提供了一个精密的、一流的定价框架和相关规则,直接带来了约2000万美元的效益。
     
  • 新兴市场进入:一家领先的亚洲服装品牌正寻求其在全球最大市场之一的盈利机会。艾意凯咨询明确了客户目标的可行性,并与客户共同制定了一个进入市场的方案。艾意凯咨询不仅选择了最适合客户的入市策略,同时还筛选出了最可靠的入市合作伙伴,并为客户比对了类似合作交易的条款。
展开

Overview

Consumer products companies cover a vast array of product categories, and come in many shapes and sizes. Strategic decision-making is often made challenging due to the complexity of these businesses, which can have multiple brands or divisions, target consumer groups, geographies, channels of distribution, and so on. Consider the following market dynamics:

  • The marketplace is facing channel disruption on a dramatic scale, growing ecommerce penetration and the continued strengthening of Amazon, new and disruptive business models, demographic shifts and renewed spending priorities, highly informed and empowered consumers, and rapidly evolving technologies.
  • The changing channel landscape is forcing many consumer brands to restructure their go-to-market strategies to drive more productivity from fewer points of distribution, and to build direct-to-consumer strategies that require capabilities and expertise that don’t typically reside in-house today.
  • The role and influence of brands have also evolved. Today, consumers are increasingly looking for “specialty” brands that deliver on precise needs, and thus grant brands less “permission” to expand beyond their core. The appeal of power brands has eroded, and the prevalence of private label and other value brand alternatives gives consumers many choices when they’re trading down, particularly in an hourglass economy. This makes it paramount for any branded consumer products company to take a hard look at its brand proposition and ensure it is sufficiently relevant and compelling.

L.E.K. combines deep industry expertise, fact-based insights and sophisticated analytics to identify solutions to complex issues and build confidence among management teams to take informed strategic action. Consumer product companies partner with us to deliver strategies that drive growth, create competitive advantage, unlock profit and value creation opportunities, and mitigate risk. Our approach is highly objective and fact-based, but we also take extraordinary care to involve management teams throughout the process, as appropriate, to ensure full alignment.


How we help

Consumer products companies, from small emerging brands to large global enterprises, engage us to:

  • Accelerate growth: Our core focus is growth strategy, with a track record of guiding consumer products companies to prioritize the right growth vectors and align on how to activate the strategies necessary to realize tangible results. We can address this challenge by applying different lenses: for example, evaluating opportunities based on Edge Strategy® and Strategic Market Position principles, and grounding strategic options in deep consumer understanding — both psychographic and behavioral — and brand position to clearly define “permission” areas of highest strategic value, rigorous market evolution framing, and business case and scenario analysis.
  • Define brand position and strategy: We believe that strategy should be consumer-driven — it must be grounded in a sound view of your core target consumer segments, what they value, how they behave along the purchase path, what motivates them to make decisions, etc. Positioning your brand squarely against the right consumers and in the right way follows from this. Deep analytics and years of expertise allow us to bring the right strategic frameworks and guidance to clients to focus their brands appropriately and allow them to unlock superior value.
  • Define the right channel strategy: We help clients navigate this very complex issue, by clearly defining the roles, rules and related strategies for each channel segment. In doing so, we assist clients with many aspects of channel strategy, including where and where not to participate, how to grow sales and profit productivity across points of distribution, restructuring distribution in light of legacy and digital channel evolution, refining distributor and marketplace strategies, building or recalibrating DTC strategies, defining holistic digital and ecommerce strategies, and others.
  • Execute value-creating deals: We support our clients at every stage of the deal life cycle — from evaluation to diligence to integration to growth planning. We have helped our consumer products clients execute billions of dollars’ worth of transactions, including mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures, other partnerships, and divestitures.


Success stories

We have helped companies achieve profitable growth and outsized returns.

  • Transformative growth strategy: A small gluten-free food manufacturer needed strategic insight into its true market opportunity, and how to maximize growth and value creation. L.E.K. combined fact-based analysis and deep industry expertise to frame the addressable market opportunity and to build a strategy that pushed the organization to pursue growth opportunities outside of what its historical mindset had considered. The growth path we defined unlocked substantial, yet fully practical and rational, growth that existed in new categories and channel expansion (transitioning beyond the natural channel and into large conventional channels). The approach was nuanced and precise, given the inherent complexities and risks, and ultimately led to an increase of the company’s valuation by 500% and the brand becoming the fastest-growing food brand in the U.S.
     
  • Product innovation: A leading specialty mattress manufacturer needed to regain market share by developing a compelling “pull” brand among consumers. L.E.K. conducted an extensive consumer-driven exploration of expectations and needs, grounded in rigorous consumer research spanning extensive consumer surveys, interviews, focus groups and conjoint analysis. We worked collaboratively with our client to build a new product concept. We further collaborated with an ad agency to create a distinct brand promise and associated branding strategy and campaign. We also critically modeled the economic benefits to dealers in the marketplace, which directly informed rollout prioritization and channel negotiations for the new product. The newly created product has been touted as a major “market winner” across the industry.
  • Consumer-led growth strategy: A mature global footwear company asked L.E.K. to assist in defining the growth strategy for its flagship brand. At issue was whether the brand had reached its peak and should thus be “milked,” or whether substantial runway still existed and should be aggressively funded. We conducted deep consumer research to define relevant consumer segments in the marketplace and precisely determine how our client’s brand was positioned against key segments, where there was misalignment that could be corrected, and ultimately where and how much growth opportunity remained with key segments. We also prioritized the key growth levers that should be pursued. Our work established a universal understanding of the consumer throughout the entire company and paved the way for a growth plan that drove further investment that propelled the brand to one of the top growth brands in the industry.
  • Pricing and promotion strategy: A leading vitamin, mineral and supplement company needed to rethink its pricing and trade promotion strategy. Their existing pricing strategy was inconsistent at best, and there was no clear linkage between the company’s overall strategy and its go-to-market pricing approach. Further, the marketplace was highly promotional and lacked clear messaging to the consumer. L.E.K. worked closely with a cross-functional client team and applied deep data analytics and competitive and channel analysis to address a range of pricing issues. We delivered a sophisticated, best-in-class pricing framework and associated rules that generated approximately $20 million in direct contribution dollars.
Read More

Related Insights

How do we help clients achieve high-impact results?

Learn about how we can help you with your Consumer Products needs.