Services à la Santé

Présentation

Quel que soit le pays, les services à la santé font face aux mêmes défis: vieillissement de la population, augmentation des maladies chroniques, augmentation des frais médicaux, innovations technologiques, patients ayant un accès simplifié aux informations médicales...

Dans ce contexte, chaque pays est confronté à une combinaison unique de dynamiques qui mettent à mal leurs systèmes de santé et l'empêche de fournir de meilleurs résultats à coût réduit.

Europe

En Europe, le vieillissement de la population est une lourde charge qui pousse les organismes de santé et les différents acteurs « à faire plus et mieux avec moins ». Les prestataires s'efforcent de favoriser l'excellence clinique et la cohérence dans leurs activités et de mieux relier les différents parcours de soins (hopitaux, soins de suite et soins à domicile…). Les prestataires de services auxiliaires, comme les sociétés d'imagerie médicale, de dialyse et les laboratoires d'analyses médicales, appliquent les meilleures pratiques opérationnelles à l'échelle de leurs réseaux grandissants pour améliorer la qualité à moindre coût. Pour faire face à l'impact de l'augmentation de la demande et le manque de moyens, le personnel soignant s'efforce d'accroître la numérisation. De leurs côtés, les patients se tournent également vers la technologie pour s’informer et, dans certains pays, payent pour accéder plus vite aux soins face à l'allongement des délais d'attente que connaît le secteur public.

L.E.K. Consulting travaille avec les dirigeants du secteur pour résoudre leurs défis les plus complexes pendant cette période de profonds changements. En partenariat avec les systèmes de santé, les mutuelles, les prestataires, les services technologiques et les fournisseurs de solutions, les distributeurs et les investisseurs du secteur de la santé, nous nous efforçons d'améliorer les performances en ouvrant la voie à de nouvelles opportunités de marché, en renforçant la souplesse organisationnelle, et en assurant une meilleure qualité tout en réduisant les coûts et en améliorant les marges.

États-Unis

Les États-Unis dépensent plus de 3000 milliards de dollars (près de 18 % du PIB) en soins de santé, deux fois plus par habitant que les autres pays développés, pour une qualité et des résultats inférieurs.

Malgré la taille de cette industrie, la plupart des dépenses de santé se font au niveau local. Tous les éléments qui composent la chaîne de valeur font face à des environnements très dynamiques, qu'affectent un certain nombre de tendances clés, notamment le vieillissement et les populations en moins bonne santé, les incertitudes politiques et réglementaires, la transition vers des modèles de soins plus efficaces et moins coûteux, le rapprochement des payeurs et des prestataires, l'accès aux données, l'innovation et la technologie, les évolutions des  attentes des consommateurs/patients, et la reconnaissance accrue du rôle des déterminants sociaux de la santé. Pour ne rien arranger, les acteurs occupent l'espace des uns et des autres, alors que de nouveaux entrants intègrent le marché. Les organismes gestionnaires des soins de santé sont par exemple des prestataires d'achats. Ces prestataires offrent des régimes d'assurance maladie ; et Apple, Google et d'autres grandes marques arrivent désormais sur la scène pour conquérir ce marché.

Pour les prestataires de soins à la santé innovants et visionnaires, ces défis sont aussi une incroyable opportunité de développer et déployer des modèles économiques et des solutions susceptibles de réduire les coûts et d'améliorer la qualité, les résultats et le confort du patient, tout en étant créateurs de valeur pour les actionnaires.

Notre contribution

L'équipe de L.E.K. apporte sa connaissance du secteur au niveau local et les perspectives stratégiques requises pour faire face à ces problèmes majeurs. Notre approche vise à renforcer les capacités du client à répondre à ces problématiques spécifiques et à avancer avec confiance en le dotant des connaissances, outils et assistance nécessaires. Pour compléter notre connaissance approfondie du secteur, nous faisons appel à des experts de grandes entreprises du secteur de la santé qui apportent un point de vue pratique et concret sur certains projets. De plus, la rigueur analytique, l’analyse détaillée et la rapidité d'exécution sont autant d’éléments inscrits dans notre ADN de cabinet de conseil en stratégie particulièrement actif sur les fusions-acquisitions (M&A)

Voici quelques sujets sur lesquels nous aidons les organismes de soins à la santé:

  • Favoriser la croissance et le développement de nouvelles activités : en étroite collaboration avec les clients, nous évaluons de nouveaux marchés, nous hiérarchisons les opportunités de croissance stratégiques, nous développons des plans d'activité et des modèles économiques, nous normalisons les plans de réduction de coûts et d’amélioration de la performance (et de la qualité des soins) tout en restant attractif pour les actionnaires.
  • Élaborer des stratégies pour faire face à l'évolution des réglementations : pour aider nos clients à concevoir des solutions uniques, capables de répondre à l'évolution constante des marchés, nous nous appuyons sur notre grande connaissance de la législation en vigueur, sur des données empiriques et factuelles, et sur une analyse détaillée des actifs du client.
  • Favoriser l'innovation : nous permettons à nos clients de transformer de simples idées en nouveaux modèles sectoriels. Nous démontrons qu'il est possible d’optimiser aussi bien la qualité que les coûts via une étude rigoureuse, une formulation claire de la proposition de valeur et une intégration précise des nouvelles solutions dans la chaîne de valeur des prestations de santé.
  • Améliorer les modèles sociaux et médicaux : aux côtés de nos clients, nous définissons l’offre qui répondra au mieux à la demande croissante de prévention au sein des structures sanitaires et sociales pour les soins de base, intensifs et à domicile.
  • Améliorer l'efficacité opérationnelle : notre expérience concrète des organismes payeurs, des prestataires et autres acteurs nous permet de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les dirigeants pour diagnostiquer les problèmes et élaborer puis mettre en œuvre les plans d'amélioration de la performance. Nous disposons de l'expérience nécessaire sur toute la chaîne, qu'il s'agisse de vente et marketing, de service client et de fidélisation, de cycle des revenus, de gestion médicale et d'opérations cliniques ou de financement.
  • Évaluer les opportunités de fusions-acquisitions : notre expertise en matière de M&A nous permet d’aider les investisseurs à identifier les meilleures opportunités d’investissement. Notre expertise en due diligence inclu également des services d’intégration post-acquisition (PMI) qui optimisent la valeur des sociétés de portefeuille.

Témoignages

  • Plan d'amélioration des performances opérationnelles et financières : L.E.K. a été amené à élaborer un plan d'amélioration des performances opérationnelles et financières pour un opérateur de centres de dialyse. Le gain d'efficacité et l'optimisation des coûts se sont traduits par une augmentation de 80 millions de dollars d’EBITDA et l'optimisation des coûts administratifs, générant une économie de 50 millions de dollars par an.
  • Due diligence : L.E.K. a effectué la due diligence et l'évaluation opérationnelle de l'opérateur d'un service d'urgences indépendant, et a élaboré une stratégie de valorisation post-acquisition pour le compte d'un investisseur privé. Stratégiquement, le client a fortement investi dans l'organisme ciblé.
  • Stratégie de croissance et de prix : L.E.K. a élaboré avec succès une stratégie de consolidation axée sur la croissance interne et externe pour l'un des plus grands prestataires de soins dentaires européens. Ensemble, nous avons identifié les meilleures pratiques de référence et conçu une stratégie prix plus claire pour les patients. Notre collaboration a accéléré la croissance du réseau et a conduit à deux changements fructueux de propriétaire, tandis que le nombre de patients et le niveau de satisfaction ont également augmenté pendant cette même période.
  • Développement de choix stratégique : L.E.K. a assisté pendant plusieurs années un grand prestataire européen d'imagerie médicale et moléculaire dans son développement stratégique. Grâce à notre connaissance approfondie des grandes dynamiques du secteur, de ses difficultés et de ses opportunités, nous avons identifié un certain nombre de choix stratégiques. Suite à notre collaboration, l'entreprise s’est fortement développée avec succès dans trois pays européens.
  • Évaluation du marché et des performances internes : L.E.K. a été chargé d'aider un grand groupe hospitalier privé du Royaume-Uni à évaluer son marché, en étudiant les dynamiques de demande, d'approvisionnement et de financement. Nous avons également analysé les performances de chacun des 20 plus grands hôpitaux de la société et validé le business plan du Management.
Lire la suite

Overview

Countries around the world are facing common challenges and opportunities impacting the health of their citizens and their healthcare systems: aging populations, increase in chronic disease, healthcare cost growth outpacing economic growth, consumer access to health information, and unprecedented technological innovation (e.g., medical and pharmaceutical technology, information technology).

Against this backdrop, each region and country is confronting a unique combination of dynamics that challenge their healthcare systems to deliver better outcomes at a reduced cost burden.

United States

The U.S. spends more than $3 trillion (nearly 18% of GDP) on healthcare — two times or more dollars per capita than other developed nations, for quality and outcomes that lag these global peers.

For such a massive industry, most healthcare spending remains a local game. Constituents throughout the healthcare value chain face highly dynamic environments that are impacted by a number of key trends, including an aging and less healthy population; political and regulatory uncertainty; migration to value-based and accountable care models; integration across the care continuum; payer and provider consolidation; new and increased access to data, innovation and technology; increasing levels of consumer engagement and expectations; and increasing recognition of the role of social determinants of health. To make matters more complex, participants are migrating into each other’s spaces, and nonparticipants are entering the healthcare fray. For example, managed care organizations are buying providers; providers are offering health plans; and Apple, Google and other iconic brands are finding ways into the consumer engagement arena.

These and other challenges offer unprecedented opportunities for innovative and forward-thinking healthcare services companies to develop and deploy business models and solutions that reduce healthcare cost, improve quality and outcomes, and enhance the patient experience, while capturing value for shareholders.

Europe

In Europe, aging populations are placing significant burdens on healthcare delivery systems and payers to “do more, better, with less.” Providers are working to drive clinical excellence and consistency across their activities, and to create improved linkages across different care pathway settings. Ancillary service providers, such as diagnostic imaging, dialysis and pathology lab companies, are using operational best practices across their increasingly international networks to improve quality for lower cost. Clinicians are adapting to growing demands on their time by incorporating increasing levels of digitization in their workflows. And patients are looking to technology to inform their healthcare decision-making and, in some markets, paying for accelerated access to healthcare in response to lengthening public sector waiting times.

L.E.K. Consulting works with senior healthcare executives to help solve their most complex challenges during this period of dynamic change. We partner with healthcare systems, payers, providers, technology and solutions organizations, distributors, and healthcare investors to improve business performance by unlocking new market opportunities, improving organizational agility, supporting higher quality outcomes at lower costs and increasing profitability.

How we help

L.E.K.’s senior executive team delivers the industry insight and strategic perspective required to address critical business issues. Our collaborative, project-based approach is designed to build client capabilities by providing senior executives with the knowledge, tools and support they need to address specific pain points and move forward with confidence. To complement the deep industry experience of our team, we employ seasoned executives from major healthcare enterprises who have “been there and done that” and lend real-world, hands-on perspective to relevant engagements. And our heritage as a strategic advisor supporting mergers and acquisitions (M&A) has been instrumental in honing our process that combines unmatched analytical rigor, detailed analysis and rapid execution.

Some of the ways we help leading healthcare services organizations include:

  • Enabling growth and new business development: We work closely with clients to assess new markets, prioritize strategic growth opportunities, develop business plans and commercial models, and codify implementation roadmaps to reduce costs and improve healthcare outcomes and quality, while creating shareholder value.
  • Developing strategies in response to changing regulations: We assist clients in developing unique solutions to address an evolving marketplace by leveraging our in-depth understanding of policy, empirical and fact-based insights, and a detailed analysis of a client’s capabilities and assets.
  • Driving innovation: We empower clients to transform ideas into new industry models. We demonstrate the ability to “move the needle” on quality and cost trends through thoughtful research, clear articulation and refinement of the value proposition, and a practical approach to integrating new solutions into the healthcare delivery value chain.
  • Enhancing social and healthcare delivery models: We collaborate with clients to define models for technologies, products and services to meet increasing demand for preventive healthcare in primary, acute, home and social care settings.
  • Capitalizing on the emerging healthcare “retail” market: L.E.K. supports clients along the value chain (including payers, benefit managers and care providers) to create robust strategies to enhance revenues, identify new market opportunities and provide consumers with innovative solutions. We combine consumer research with quantitative analysis of growth and profitability, modeling of adoption rates, and other market dynamics.
  • Improving operational effectiveness: Our hands-on expertise with payers, providers and other constituents enables us to work closely with senior executives and line management to diagnose issues and develop and implement performance improvement plans. We have deep experience across the healthcare value chain in functions such as sales and marketing, customer service and retention, revenue cycle, medical management and clinical operations, and finance.
  • Evaluating M&A opportunities: We have deep expertise in advising strategic and financial investors to identify high-yield investment opportunities. Our commercial due diligence efforts also feature post-acquisition strategy and integration services to optimize the value of portfolio companies.

 

Success stories

  • Growth strategy: L.E.K. developed a strategic and investment plan and provided implementation support to a national, multiline managed care organization (MCO) to substantially grow its Medicare Advantage membership over five years via new county expansion; improved member retention; targeted outreach to plan switchers, Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries and age-ins; and enhanced distribution. The client approved the plan and financial investment that we recommended and pursued implementation with our assistance.
  • Product development and strategy: L.E.K. created a comprehensive fact base of the accountable care organization (ACO) market opportunity to inform the go-to-market strategy for the services and technology business unit of a leading payer-provider, including an in-depth evaluation of the ACO services market (including sizing and segmentation), current and future competitors, customer needs, and articulated implications for the client’s go-to-market strategy. The client subsequently green-lighted additional investment, substantially refined the positioning of its service line and modified sales targeting, which led to accelerated growth.
  • Operating and financial performance improvement plan: L.E.K. developed an operating and cost performance improvement plan for an operator of dialysis clinics. The client realized clinical operating efficiencies and cost optimization yielding an $80 million EBITDA improvement and G&A optimization yielding an additional $50 million in run-rate cost reductions.
  • Commercial due diligence: L.E.K. completed commercial due diligence and an operational assessment of a free-standing emergency department (FSED) operator and developed a post-acquisition value creation strategy on behalf of a private equity investor. The client made a substantial strategic investment in the target organization.
  • Growth and pricing strategy: L.E.K. developed a successful consolidation strategy built around organic and inorganic growth for one of Europe’s leading dental service providers. Together we leveraged internal operating metrics to drive best practice benchmarking and identified a clearer pricing strategy for patients paying out of pocket. Our collaboration supported rapid network growth and two successful changes of ownership, during a period when patient numbers and satisfaction also rose.
  • Strategic option development: L.E.K. supported a leading European diagnostic and molecular imaging provider in its strategic development over a number of years. We provided management with an in-depth understanding of key market dynamics, challenges and opportunities, and together developed a number of strategic options. This led to the company’s success in three European countries, and the creation of a strong position for further expansion.
  • Market and internal performance assessment: L.E.K. supported a leading UK private hospital provider in assessing the UK market, investigating the demand, supply and funding dynamics both overall and at the local hospital level. We also analyzed the performance of each of the company’s 20 largest hospitals, supporting management’s development plan and leading to a successful flotation of the business.
Read More

Related Insights

How do we help clients achieve high-impact results?

Learn about how we can help you with your Healthcare Services needs.