医疗技术

概述

 

随着医疗保健领域的不断发展并带来新的挑战,许多公司发现增长速度正在放缓,而现有产品和传统方法的盈利能力正在下降。艾意凯在整个医疗技术价值链(从合同制造到分销再到医疗服务的实际提供)上都具有经验,可帮助客户克服他们眼下面临的许多关键挑战,抓住自发涌现出来的独特机遇。这些挑战和机遇包括:

  • 美国医疗支出增长放缓:医疗保健系统的成本压力迫使医疗设备公司在国内的业务增长呈现出放缓的态势,迫使他们寻找新的收入增长途径,尤其是高速增长的新兴市场。然而,仅依靠来自于新兴市场的增量部分还是无法满足股东的增长期望,医疗技术公司正在重新考虑其他非传统型的增长途径,获取新的收入来源。在整体医疗保健支出中,只有不到8%的支出用于医疗设备,医疗技术公司的机会在于扩展其解决方案,尤其是那些减少其他成本构成的解决方案(例如减少昂贵患者细分市场的药理成本负担,提高劳动效率)。
  • 人们对价值的重视给医疗技术公司带来了机遇和挑战:相对于产品的质量、临床效果和围绕规格、产品使用、交付和售后的支持性服务,医疗提供商不得不对产品的成本/和可负担性作出让步。
  • 在医疗技术价值链各利益相关方之间的传统分界变得越来越模糊:医疗技术公司可以通过重新定义其业务边界来抓住机遇。比如有许多大型医疗技术公司在扩大服务提供范围,甚至提供医疗服务(例如美敦力公司收购Diabeter);分销商扩展自己的产品组合,销售自有品牌产品(如卡地纳健康集团);相反,一些制造商纵向进入分销业务(例如 Bard 收购 Liberator Medical)。GPO (集中采购组织)同样也在发展合同商之外扩大其服务提供范围,而医疗设备合同制造商也涉足产品设计和原型设计等上游产业。
  • 医疗技术供应商整合:医疗提供商之间的整合和提供更广泛产品组合的压力,给规模较小的参与者在日益集中的竞争环境中带来了竞争的挑战和机遇。
  • 对服务和解决方案的关注得以提高:与医疗体系中其他类型的供应商相比,医疗技术公司在差异化方面尤为有优势,可以将自身定位为“方案”提供商,解决关键客户未满足的需求,并增加客户粘性。有的企业在成为领先医疗体系的首选合作伙伴的竞争中会落败(它们越来越想与更少的合作伙伴进行更深入的合作),但是考虑到供应商不断整合,提前进行投资以赢得长期利益是值得的。
  • 医疗技术商业模式演变 考虑到上述变化以及在中国等市场的直接监管行为,医疗技术公司正在重新评估进入市场的方法,来更好地为客户提供服务,也被迫重新审视进入市场时的合作方式,细分市场和目标方法,以便更加有效、高效地服务客户,而这些客户自身的组成(例如监管部门影响力提高)和更广泛的需求(例如,应对不断发展的问责制)也在不断变化。
  • 医疗技术的定价和签约演变:考虑到医疗提供商局面的演变,医疗技术公司发现需要不断更新升级客户细分、产品定价和合同订立的方式方法。从历史上看,较高的产品利润和医疗费付费报销模势使得医疗技术公司能够派出一批销售代表向个别医师进行销售,而无须过多关注签约策略和定价规则。然而医药行业支付方式的根本性改革使得医疗技术公司需要不断寻找方法,为客户提供分层定价和服务,重新评估现有的关系,并提高对与大型医疗体系直接签订合同的方法的关注。

 

考虑到上述机遇和挑战,我们相信,医疗保健领域的变化会为那些能够成功发展的公司带来新的、有利可图的机会。在这种环境下,医疗技术公司不仅必须从现有业务中尽量获取最大收益,还必须利用核心竞争力奠定新的发展和机会来源。

 

医疗技术公司可追求几个不同的成长向量,但哪一个适合您的公司呢?作为一家战略咨询公司,艾意凯已证实自己有经验帮助医疗技术公司解决此类问题,通过采用深度研究和精妙的分析方法来解决复杂的问题、提炼关键见解,并最终交付产生重大影响的结果。

 

我们全能型的服务涵盖发展战略的各大途径,并且可以进行定制,以帮助您得出一个或多个最适合您发展目标和竞争潜力的战略选择。

Medtech_image_0.png

我们如何提供帮助

在艾意凯,帮助客户扩大业务、提高股东价值是我们公司与生俱来的职责。我们根据您的独特情况定制方法,我们的团队拥有丰富的经验,可以帮助公司确定最佳的发展策略。我们的医疗技术咨询业务在整个行业的诸如耗材、医疗设备、特定程序设备、医疗保健信息技术和给药设备等所有主要产品细分领域拥有丰富的经验。我们在这些领域的核心服务包括:

  • 客户细分和定位:考虑到合并、整合和日益多样化的供应商模式和需求的增长,医疗技术公司必须了解大型一体化付费与服务提供型医疗体系客户与小型简单社区医院之间的关键区别:较大型的医疗体系可能会寻求更加长期的合作伙伴关系,而较小的医院则可能只是在寻求一种交易关系。我们可以帮助医疗技术公司应对这一复杂的环境,基于我们自有的医院系统数据库和年度艾意凯医院研究,提供我们的见解。
  • 服务和解决方案扩展:客户不仅希望医疗设备公司提供创新型设备,而且越来越希望它们将此作为针对具体需求更为广泛的解决方案的组分,无论此类需求属于临床还是运营性质。理想情况下,解决方案应包含产品、服务和数据这三个要素,而且还应包括衡量/追踪效果的方法(甚至直接和支付相连接)。我们拥有帮助医疗技术公司向许多医院科室(例如手术室(OR)、药房、实验室)和医疗体系(例如 ASC)拓展服务和提供解决方案的丰富经验。我们可通过优选客户未被满足的需求、定义满足此类需求必要的技术、服务和数据,帮助客户制定整体解决方案。此外,在有效部署此类新型解决方案所需组织结构变化的定义和实施方面,我们也拥有丰富的经验。
  • 商业模式优化:为了在当今的医疗保健环境中取得成功,您公司的组织结构和商业模式必须以客户为中心,并与领先医疗体系的发展需求保持一致。我们了解此类医疗体系的需求,以及它们期待从医疗技术合作伙伴那里得到什么。更重要的是,我们为处于各发展阶段的医疗设备公司提供过建议,帮助他们建立在当今市场中获胜所需的组织和商业设施,这通常包括重新定义商业角色,调整销售资源。
  • 定价策略与价值表达:由于医疗保健转向结果驱动型模式,医疗技术的定价模式也随之发生变化。为优化市场准入和利用率,企业的定价策略和价值表达计划必须与产品一样经过精确校准。我们的团队为整个过程提供支持,根据每一个细分市场进行订制,帮助企业有效地传达产品的核心价值,预测并应对支付方的反应,最后形成一个清晰的战略,确定合理的价格水平和市场进入战略以获取最大收益。一旦产品投入市场,我们就可以帮助您阐明产品的个体价值以及合并的解决方案的价值,并且帮助企业改进内部定价策略和相关流程。
  • 交易支持:在过去的几年里,大型战略性公司(例如 Medtronic、Stryker、BD、Abbott)特别活跃。尽管一些交易专注于拓展现有能力(比如Zimmer Biomet),但最近大多数的交易都专注于获取新的能力(通常是为了向上述更为全面的“解决方案”迁移)。我们是交易支持方面的领导者,可为企业和私募股权客户提供帮助。作为领先的交易支持顾问,我们已帮助客户实现了超过 1400 亿美元的生命科学和医疗设备的交易。我们为并购活动的各个阶段提供支持,包括并购和合作战略、目标筛选、商业尽职调查、谈判支持和并购后整合等。我们在商业尽职调查领域的声誉首屈一指,我们可在极短的时间内,对医疗技术目标公司(无论代表买方或卖方)进行高水平的评估。
  • 产品/市场评估:无论您是要预测现有产品组合的收益,还是权衡您在可能购买之资产或者投资之市场上的各个选项,我们都会为您提供独立的、公正的、以证据为基础的评估,从而为您带来做出致胜决策所需的信心。我们对产品评估采用严谨的方法,即将定量分析与定性研究相结合,并进行专有对标,以得出准确的预测,帮助您区分资产的优先次序、分配研发资源、作出合理的通过/不通过的项目决策。
展开

Overview

As the healthcare landscape continues to evolve and present new challenges, many companies are finding that growth is slowing and profitability is declining from existing products and traditional approaches. L.E.K. has experience across the entire medtech value chain (from contract manufacturing to distribution to the actual provision of care), helping clients overcome many of the key challenges they face today and take advantage of distinct opportunities that are presenting themselves. Some of these challenges and opportunities include:

  • Slowing U.S. healthcare spending growth: Cost pressures on the U.S. healthcare system are manifesting into slowing growth for medical device companies domestically, forcing medtechs to look abroad for new avenues of revenue growth, particularly in high-growth, emerging markets. However, incremental growth from emerging markets is unlikely to be sufficient to satisfy shareholders’ growth expectations, thereby forcing medtechs to revisit other nontraditional growth pathways and to access new revenue pools. With less than 8% of overall healthcare spending devoted to medical devices, medtechs have opportunities to expand their solutions, particularly those that reduce other cost components (e.g., reducing the pharmacological cost burden of expensive patient segments, reducing labor inefficiencies).
  • Increased focus on accountability and value-based payments presents both an opportunity and a challenge for medtechs, as providers are forced to consider the total cost of care and look for medtech partners to help take on a larger role in driving down costs. Additionally, increased focus on accountability is further driving providers to consolidate into large health systems in order to drive cost efficiencies and to seek participation across the care continuum; while this provider consolidation is leading to opportunities for medtechs to focus selling efforts on large health systems, it also presents challenges for suppliers that must deal with more sophisticated procurement and standardization needs as well as heightened competition for the largest accounts.
  • Traditional lines blurring across stakeholders in the medtech value chain: Medtechs may also be able to realize opportunities by redefining the boundaries of their businesses. This is reflected in how many large medtechs are expanding their service offerings and, in some cases, even providing care (e.g., Medtronic buying Diabeter), distributors expanding their own portfolios of manufactured products and selling their own branded products (e.g., Cardinal Health), and, conversely, some manufacturers vertically integrating into distribution (e.g., Bard acquiring Liberator Medical). GPOs are likewise expanding their service offerings (beyond contracting), and contract manufacturers of medical devices are also moving into upstream functions such as product design and prototyping.
  • Medtech supplier consolidation: Consolidation among providers and pressures to provide broad portfolios of products present smaller players with both challenges and opportunities to compete in an increasingly concentrated competitive landscape.
  • Increased focus on services and solutions: More so than with other types of suppliers to health systems, medtechs are particularly well-positioned to differentiate themselves as “solution” providers, solve key customer unmet needs and increase customer stickiness. There will be “losers” in the race to be preferred partners with leading health systems (that increasingly want fewer, deeper partners), but the benefits will be substantial as providers consolidate and worth the upfront investments to win the long game.
  • Medtech commercial model evolution: Given the changes described above, medtechs are re-evaluating their approach to serving customers (e.g., through innovative gain-sharing models), and are also being forced to revisit their segmentation and targeting approaches to more effectively (and efficiently) serve customers that are changing in both their composition (e.g., increased administrator influence) and broader needs (e.g., dealing with growing accountability).
  • Medtech evolution in pricing and contracting: Given the evolution in the provider landscape, medtechs are finding it more and more important to upgrade how they segment/tier their customers, as well as how they price their products and contract with their customers. Historically, high product margins and the dominance of fee-for-service reimbursement enabled medtechs to send armies of sales reps to sell to individual physicians with minimal focus on contracting strategies and pricing discipline. Although medtechs could “afford” GPO fees and pricing inefficiencies historically, they cannot anymore. As a result, medtechs are increasingly looking for ways to provide tiered pricing and service to customers, re-evaluate their existing GPO relationships and increase focus on direct contracting approaches with large health systems.

Given the above opportunities and challenges, we believe that changes in the healthcare landscape open new and profitable opportunities for companies that can successfully evolve. In this environment, medtechs must endeavor not only to maximize returns from their existing business but also to use their core competencies as the foundation for new sources of growth and opportunities.

There are several different growth vectors that medtechs can pursue, but which one is right for your company? As a growth strategy consulting firm, L.E.K. has proven experience helping medtech companies navigate these questions, and employs deep research and sophisticated analytics to solve complex issues, distill key insights and, ultimately, deliver high-impact results.

Our diverse service offerings cover all avenues of growth strategy, and can be customized to help you pursue one or more of the strategic options that best fit your growth objectives and potential.

Medtech_image_0.png

How We Help

At L.E.K., helping clients grow their business and drive enhanced shareholder value is in our DNA. Our approach is customized for your unique situation and our team brings proven experience helping companies determine the best growth strategy. Our MedTech practice includes deep experience across all major product segments of the industry, including Consumables and Supplies, Medical Equipment, Procedure-Specific Devices, Healthcare IT and Drug Delivery Devices. Some of our core offerings across these segments include:

  • Customer segmentation and targeting: Given the rise of consolidation, integration and increasingly varied provider models and needs, medtechs must understand the key distinctions between large, integrated payer-provider health system customers and the smaller, less sophisticated community hospitals; larger health systems may be seeking more long-term partnerships, whereas smaller hospitals may only be seeking a transactional relationship. We can help medtechs navigate this complex landscape, bringing to bear insights from our proprietary database of hospital systems, as well as our annual L.E.K. Hospital study.
  • Service and solution expansion: Medical device companies are not only expected to provide innovative devices but are increasingly expected to do so as part of a broader solution that addresses a specific problem/need, whether clinical or operational in nature. Solutions should ideally incorporate the three elements of products, services and data and, ideally, should include ways to measure/track performance (if not explicitly linked to payments). We have extensive experience in helping medtechs expand into services and solutions across many hospital departments (e.g., OR, pharmacy, lab) and care settings (e.g., ASCs). We can help develop integrated solutions by prioritizing customers’ unmet needs and then defining the range of technologies, services and data required to address them. Moreover, we have deep experience in defining and implementing the organizational changes required to effectively deploy these new solutions.
  • Commercial model optimization: In order to succeed in today’s healthcare environment, your organizational structure and commercial model must be customer-centric and well-aligned to the evolving needs of leading health systems. We understand the needs of these health systems and what they are looking for from their medtech partners. More important, we have advised medical device companies across all stages of development, helping them build out the organization and commercial infrastructure required to win in today’s market, which often includes redefining of commercial roles and rebalancing selling resources.
  • Pricing strategy and value articulation: As healthcare moves to an outcomes-driven model, medtech pricing models are also shifting. To optimize market access and utilization, your pricing strategy and value articulation plan must be as precisely calibrated as your products. Our team supports the entire process, market by market, helping you effectively communicate the value of your product, anticipate and respond to payer reactions, and arrive at a clear strategy that pinpoints the right pricing levels and market entry strategy for maximum returns. Once products are in the market, we can help articulate the value of discrete products or broader solutions and/or help improve internal pricing strategies and associated processes.
  • Transaction support: Large strategic companies (e.g., Medtronic, Stryker, BD, Abbott) have been particularly active over the past three years. Although some deals have focused on expansion within existing capabilities (e.g., Zimmer Biomet), most recent deals have been focused on acquiring new capabilities (often to enable migration toward more holistic “solutions” as described above). We are a leader in transaction support, helping both corporate and private equity clients. As a leading transaction support advisor, we have helped our clients execute more than $120 billion in life sciences and medical device deal value. We provide support at every step of the process, including M&A and partnership strategy, acquisition screening, commercial due diligence, negotiation support and post-merger integration. With respect to commercial due diligence, our reputation is second to none in delivering top-notch assessments of medtech target companies (both on the buy side and sell side) within extremely tight time frames.
  • Product/market evaluation: Whether you are projecting revenues for your current product portfolio or weighing options for assets you might acquire or markets you might invest in, an independent, unbiased and evidence-based evaluation will provide you with the confidence required to make winning decisions. We apply a disciplined approach to product evaluation that combines quantitative analyses with qualitative research, and proprietary benchmarks, arriving at accurate projections that help you prioritize assets, allocate R&D investments and make rational go/no-go program decisions.
Read More

Related Insights

How do we help clients achieve high-impact results?

Learn about how we can help you with your MedTech needs.