零售

概述

 

零售行业正在经历翻天覆地的变化。举例来说,电子商务不断渗透、亚马逊越来越强大、品牌直接面向消费者 (DTC) 策略和新商业模式的扩散、人口结构变化和消费热点的更新、消费者信息丰富且维权意识增强、技术快速发展、各大传统渠道细分市场大规模重组,这些都在给行业带来重大颠覆。

 

因此,对于许多公司而言,实现收入和利润双增长是一项挑战,而对于某些公司而言,长期的生存能力是个问题。如今,零售商需要客观地评估他们的作用和价值主张,并对未来赢得胜利所必需的正确战略(无论是改良微调还是激进举措)进行优选。

 

艾意凯结合深厚的行业知识、基于事实的见解和先进的分析手段,找出解决复杂问题的方法,帮助管理层树立信心,在充分知情的状况下采取战略行动。零售商与我们合作,制定战略以推动发展,创造竞争优势,发掘创造利润和价值的机会,降低风险。我们的方法非常客观且以事实为基础,但我们也特别在意,让管理团队在适当的时候参与整个过程,以确保项目方向保持完全一致。
 

我们如何提供帮助

 

地区、国家和全球性的零售商通常在以下方面求助于我们:

 

加速增长:我们的核心重点在于增长战略,在引导零售商选择正确的增长方向,激活战略获取实际成果方面成绩显赫。我们可以通过采用不同策略应对这一挑战:例如,根据 Edge Strategy® (边缘优势战略)和战略市场定位原则对机会进行评估、根据对消费者心理和行为方面的深入了解和品牌定位明确定义具有最高战略价值的“许可”领域、严谨的市场演化框架,以及商业案例和场景分析。

  • 战略激活:我们与客户合作,将其增长战略付诸行动。我们在以下诸多领域都成绩斐然:
    • 消费者互动:
      • 营销策略
      • 定价策略
      • 促销策略
      • 忠诚度
    • 渠道:
      • 门店组合优化
      • 数字化战略
      • 全渠道战略
    • 商店体验:
      • 客户体验
      • 新概念开发
      • 商业策略
      • 新服务
  • 运营效益:我们与客户密切合作,优化流程(效率和效益)、核心能力和最佳实践,以及整个业务的组织结构。我们所做的工作直接帮助客户依托核心价值驱动因素对其组织进行定位,实现战略重点、营收和利润的增长。

成功案例

  • 新概念开发 一家专业零售连锁店的可比同店销售额严重下滑,濒临重大重组。艾意凯协助客户开发了一种全新的商店概念,这是一次针对原有战略的激进的、但具有战略可行性的转变,向消费者传达了卓越的价值主张。这次的策略转变包括在品牌定位、名称、门店形式、门店地理位置策略、门店转换、品牌重塑计划和数字化策略等方面上的演变,使得新商店概念实现了两位数的销售增长,并在全国范围内全面铺开。
  • 整体增长战略:一家全国性的专业鞋类零售商的可比同店销售额持续下滑,在其门店组合中包含了大量低利润或负利润的门店。艾意凯对业务进行了自上而下的评估,制定了以消费者为导向的整体发展策略,涵盖了消费者细分优选、品牌重新定位和营销、商品组合优化、店面概念完善以及门店地理位置策略等。自重新定位以来,这一新策略帮助可比同店销售实现了从负增长向两位数增长的转变。
  • 新产品和服务:一家全国性的大型零售商试图通过招募并维系新客户、增加现有客户的花费,并在零售和服务领域建立交叉购买模式来实现其服务业务的利润性增长。艾意凯咨询协助客户发掘店内和家庭服务,开发出新的明星服务产品,带来数亿美元的高毛利收入。
  • 成本节省:某全球性快餐连锁机构的营业毛利率低于同行业500个基点。艾意凯基于深厚行业知识,通过严谨的内部评估和战略标杆分析,识别出降低成本和提高绩效的机会,并通过重新调整组织结构和流程来提供支持,以实现改变并使其固化。由此,我们帮助发现并实现了 1.5 亿美元的成本削减。

促销策略:一家全国性的时尚女装专业零售商高度依赖促销,急需建立一套规则,以优化其促销策略。我们的方法以深度数据分析为依据,围绕深度了解各促销周期(例如日、周、季度)不同的内在弹性,据此构建合适的促销菜单。我们为该零售商个性化定制了一本能够帮助他们做出促销决策的手册,附有实现吸引流量、转化销售、实现捆绑、销售报酬和利润等关键目标的明确规则和策略。

展开

Overview

The retail industry is underdoing tremendous change. Increasing ecommerce penetration and the continued strengthening of Amazon, proliferation of brand direct-to-consumer (DTC) strategies and new business models, demographic shifts and renewed spending priorities, highly informed and empowered consumers, rapidly evolving technologies, and massive restructuring of major legacy channel segments, to name a few, are creating major disruption.

Achieving top- and bottom-line growth is thus a challenge for many, and for some, long-term viability is in question. Today is a time when retailers need to objectively evaluate their roles and value propositions, and prioritize the right strategies both refinements and bold moves required to win in the future.

L.E.K. combines deep industry expertise, fact-based insights and sophisticated analytics to identify solutions to complex issues and build confidence among management teams to take informed strategic action. Retailers partner with us to deliver strategies that drive growth, create competitive advantage, unlock profit and value-creation opportunities, and mitigate risk. Our approach is highly objective and fact-based, but we also take extraordinary care to involve management teams throughout the process, as appropriate, to ensure full alignment.


How We Help

Regional, national and global retailers routinely engage us to:

  • Accelerate growth: Our core focus is growth strategy, with a track record of guiding retailers to prioritize the right growth vectors and align on how to activate the strategies necessary to realize tangible results. We can address this challenge by applying different lenses: for example, evaluating opportunities based on Edge Strategy® and Strategic Market Position principles, and grounding strategic options in deep consumer understanding both psychographic and behavioral and brand position to clearly define “permission” areas of highest strategic value, rigorous market evolution framing, and business case and scenario analysis.
  • Activate strategies: We work with our clients to put their growth strategies into action. We have a proven track record across many areas, including:
    • Consumer engagement:
      • Marketing strategy
      • Pricing strategy
      • Promotional strategy
      • Loyalty
    • Channel:
      • Store portfolio optimization
      • Digital strategy
      • Omni-channel strategy
    • Store experience:
      • Customer experience
      • New concept development
      • Merchandising strategy
      • New services
  • Operational effectiveness: We work closely with our clients to optimize processes (efficiency and effectiveness), capabilities and best practices, and organizational structures throughout their business. Our work has directly helped clients position their organizations against core value drivers to deliver on strategic priorities and generate top- and bottom-line financial improvement.


Success Stories

  • New concept development: A specialty retail chain facing steep comp sales declines was on the brink of a major restructuring. L.E.K. assisted the client in developing a new store concept that was a radical, but strategically sound, shift from the legacy strategy, delivering a superior value proposition to the consumer. This included the evolution of the brand position, name, store format, real estate location strategy, store conversion, rebranding plan and digital strategy. This resulted in double-digit sales growth of the new store concept and a rollout across the chain nationally.
  • Holistic growth strategy: A national specialty footwear retailer was facing persistent comp sales declines, and its portfolio contained a material number of low- or negative-profit stores. L.E.K. conducted a top-to-bottom assessment of the business, developing a holistic consumer-led growth strategy, spanning consumer segment prioritization, brand repositioning and marketing, merchandise assortment enhancement, store concept refinement, and real estate/location strategy. The new strategy helped comps turn from negative to double-digit growth since repositioning.
  • New products and services: A national big box retailer was seeking to profitably grow the services segment of its business, aiming to drive new customer acquisition and retention, increase current customer spend, and build cross-shopping across retail and services. L.E.K. assisted the client in exploring both in-store and at-home services and developing new business offerings. The resulting suite of services became the jewel in the crown, generating hundreds of millions of dollars of high-margin revenue.
  • Cost reduction: A global quick-service restaurant chain faced a 500 basis point shortfall in operating margins relative to industry peers. Through rigorous internal assessment, L.E.K.’s deep industry expertise, and strategic benchmarking, we identified cost reduction and performance improvement opportunities, supported by organization and process reconfiguration to enable the changes and make them “stick.” As a result, $150 million in savings were identified and achieved.
  • Promotional strategy: A national specialty retailer of women’s fashion apparel was highly promotional and wanted a clear rule book for optimizing its promotional strategy. Our approach, grounded in deep data analytics, was built around understanding the different inherent elasticities of each time period in which promotions were being considered (e.g., day, week, season) and constructing the appropriate promotional recipe, given those dynamics. We developed a customized playbook to drive promotional decision-making, with clear rules and tactics for achieving key goals driving traffic, conversion and basket, as well as sales comp and profit generation.
Read More

Related Insights

How do we help clients achieve high-impact results?

Learn about how we can help you with your Retail needs.