工业

概述

工业企业一直面对着极具挑战的环境,这迫使管理者对其成本基准进行优化,重新审视其商业模式,培养新能力,应对愈发受到新技术影响而不断变化的市场。从不断波动的商品价格和汇率造成的影响、中国经济增长放缓和制造业结构调整,到颠覆性技术对商业模式的影响,优秀的工业领袖必须改变公司的运营方式,以在未来更加有效地进行竞争。

要想成功,管理层必须培养新的能力,改进现有的销售策略,采用新技术,专注创新,提高竞争情报能力,建立敏捷度更高、响应速度更快的组织结构,并找到扩展到新市场和地区的有效方法。

艾意凯以合作伙伴的身份,与广泛的工业领域的高管合作,帮助他们解决各自所面临的难题。艾意凯将深厚的行业专业知识、基于事实的洞察力与先进的分析方法相结合,找出解决复杂问题的方法,并在管理团队之间建立共识,以便采取理智的战略行动,在快速变化的全球工业市场中赢得胜利。

我们如何提供帮助

大型、中型和小型的工业生产商、制造商、分销商和服务公司通常就以下方面求助于我们:

  • 制定并执行发展战略:我们与客户紧密合作来定义和执行他们的长期发展战略愿景。从评估邻近市场机会的吸引力,到在现有商业模式和能力的边缘处发现新机会,再到提高资产的资本效率,艾意凯帮助客户针对各种独特情况量身打造成功的策略,我们的成绩有目共睹。
  • 执行创造价值的交易:我们被认为是工业交易支持方面的领导者,每年参与超过 100 项工业领域的交易,覆盖交易周期的各个阶段。我们协助企业客户和财务投资者制定并购策略,开展商业尽职调查,制定价值创造计划,实施并购后的整合,以及通过卖方尽职调查帮助企业出售进行定位。
  • 建立更有效的商业模式:我们帮助客户评估其价值主张,并重新定义进入市场的方式和战略。我们擅长的高级分析方法能够帮助优化分支机构/仓库位置和单品/服务提供,评估定价策略,与竞争对手业绩进行对标,并确保客户销售团队以最有效的方式运营。
  • 评估数字化准备度、设计技术支持战略:我们了解正在影响工业客户的数字化转型,并且我们通过内部诊断和外部对标分析,帮助他们评估自己是否已做好在更加数字化的世界中竞争的准备。我们帮助客户在整个企业组织内制定技术路线图,从市场营销和直接客户洞察,到渠道管理和新产品开发,使客户能够进行业务转型,并抓住数字化世界将会创造的机会。
  • 提高运营和组织效益:我们与客户密切合作,优化流程(供应链管理和运营绩效),评估组织能力和最佳实践,并重新调整组织结构。我们帮助客户依据核心价值驱动因素对其组织进行定位,从而实现战略重点,以及收入和利润的增长。

成功案例

我们帮助工业领域的众多公司实现了盈利增长。

  • 增长战略:某全球领先的先进材料技术公司多年来业绩一直停滞不前,它的新任首席执行官委托艾意凯制定转型发展战略。我们制定了一项企业成长战略,然后与各业务部门合作制定出与公司整体战略愿景一致且具有凝聚力的战略。项目成果:带来每年潜在10%的增长,EBITDA增值1亿英镑/1.35亿美元。
     
  • 协同评估。某经营水暖产品、暖通空调设备、供水系统和工业管道、阀门和管件的领先分销商期望开拓在设施维护、维修和运营 (MRO) 市场的竞争力,因此委托 艾意凯咨询对与某领先设施 MRO 产品供应商之间的潜在协同效应进行了评估。我们设计了一套框架来评估双方资产在成本(采购、基础设施/物流、销售与管理费用 (SG&A)、营运资本)和收入(市场结构、电子商务)上的协同效应,并确定了高出目前股价可能的交易价格。
     
  • 销售团队有效性。美国某领先的电气设备分销商业务增长缓慢、利润率下降、销售队伍生产力高低不一,因此试图改变其商业方式,以提高销量和利润率。艾意凯对客户各业务的终端市场和行业动态进行了评估,绘制客户优先次序示意图,并通过将销售团队从以产品为中心到提供增值解决方案转变,使销售资源得到更有策略的使用。我们识别出的机会估计能将整体毛利率提高 5% 以上,而当前业绩不佳的销售代表毛利润预计提高30%。
  • 数字化转型:一家总部位于英国的领先原始设备制造商 (OEM) 委托艾意凯进行对标分析并评估通用电气公司 (GE) 工业物联网所带来的竞争威胁。我们向客户提供了通用电气在软件方面的投资状况,以及由此反映出其在服务业务中分化与维持利润率的方法上所采取的根本性战略转变。在绘制对客户业务的潜在影响的示意图之后,艾意凯就企业如何在不断变化的技术市场环境中进行竞争提供了战略建议。
  • 投资组合优化:一家领先的制造商和分销商拥有2000多个单品数量(SKU),其中30%的单品为公司创造了80%的利润,而另外有30%则在亏损。客户委托艾意凯评估在为高价值的产品系列带来损失的前提下,可以取消哪些单品或对其重新定价。我们使用高级数据分析方法来衡量产品捆绑的力度,在投资组合中保留了那些单品价值低,但与产品组合具有高价值关联度的的单品,同时取消了那些关联度低、无利润的单品或对其重新定价。
  • 深度分析:面对重大的盈利挑战,某领先的建筑承包商聘请艾意凯对其历史业绩进行详细诊断,并制定实现盈利性增长的途径。我们对客户的项目数据库进行了深度分析,并将结果与内部能力审核和关键市场趋势评估相结合,首次帮助客户深刻了解了其盈利能力的真正驱动因素。我们确定并优化了一系列绩效改进方案,使客户能够重新设置其业务重点并实现盈利性增长。
展开

我们如何帮助客户取得高影响力的结果?

Overview

Industrial companies continue to face a challenging environment that is forcing senior executives to optimize their cost base, re-examine their business models, build new capabilities and manage in an evolving market that is increasingly being impacted by new technologies. From the impact of low oil prices and the slowing of manufacturing growth in China, and continued sluggish growth in the U.S. and Europe, to the effects of disruptive technologies on traditional business models, successful industrial leaders must transform the way their companies operate to compete more effectively in the future.

To be successful, senior leaders must build new capabilities, revamp existing sales strategies, adopt new technologies, focus on innovation, improve competitive intelligence, develop more agile and responsive organizational structures, and find ways to expand into new markets and geographies.

We work with executives across a broad range of industrials sectors as a partner to address each of these issues. L.E.K. combines deep industry expertise, fact-based insights, and advanced analytics to identify solutions to complex issues and build alignment among management teams, in order to take informed strategic action to win in a dynamic global industrials market.


How We Help

Large, mid-sized, and small industrial producers, manufacturers, distributors and service companies routinely engage us to:

  • Define and execute growth strategy. We work closely with our clients to define and execute their strategic vision for long-term growth. From evaluating the attractiveness of adjacent market opportunities, to identifying new opportunities on the edge of their existing business model and capabilities, to enhancing the capital productivity of their assets, L.E.K. possesses a proven track record of helping our clients build winning strategies tailored to each unique situation.
  • Execute value-creating deals. We are recognized as a leader in industrials deal support, and are engaged in over 100+ transactions in the industrials sector each year across the full transaction lifecycle. We assist corporate clients and financial sponsors in developing M&A strategies, conducting commercial due diligence, creating value creation plans, implementing post-merger integration and positioning companies for sale through sell-side vendor due diligence.
  • Develop a more effective commercial model. We help our clients assess their value proposition and redefine their go-to-market approach and strategy. We possess the advanced analytics required to optimize branch/depot locations and SKU/service offerings, evaluate pricing strategies, benchmark performance to competitors, and ensure our clients’ sales forces are operating most effectively.
  • Assess digital readiness and design technology-enabled strategies. We understand the digital transformation that is impacting our industrial clients, and we help them assess their readiness to compete in a more digitally focused world, through internal diagnostics and external benchmarking. We help create technology roadmaps that span the organization, from marketing and direct customer insights to channel management and new product development that allow our clients to transform their business and exploit the opportunities a digitally enabled world will create.
  • Improve operational and organizational effectiveness. We work closely with our clients to optimize processes (supply chain management and operational performance), assess capabilities and best practices, and reconfigure organizational structures. Our work helps clients position their organization against core value drivers to deliver on strategic priorities and generate top- and bottom-line financial growth.
     

Success Stories

We have helped companies across industrial sectors drive profitable growth.

  • Growth strategy. After a number of years of stagnant performance, the new CEO of a global leader in advanced materials technology asked L.E.K. to develop a transformational growth strategy. We developed a corporate growth strategy and then worked with each business unit to develop a cohesive strategy that aligned with the overall strategic vision of the company. The result: a potential 10% growth per annum and incremental EBITDA of £100/$135 million.
  • Synergy assessment. A leading distributor of plumbing products, HVAC equipment, waterworks, and industrial pipes, valves and fittings was looking to expand its presence in the facilities maintenance, repair and operations (MRO) market, and asked L.E.K. to evaluate the potential synergies with a leading supplier of facilities MRO products. We developed a set of frameworks to evaluate the cost (sourcing, infrastructure/logistics, SG&A, working capital) and revenue (market structure, e-business) synergies for the asset, and determined the premium that could be paid above what the company was trading.
  • Sales force effectiveness. A leading U.S. distributor of electrical equipment was experiencing slow growth, declining margins and mixed sales force productivity, and sought to transform its commercial approach to drive higher sales and margins. L.E.K. evaluated the performance of each of the client’s verticals and trends in each end market, to develop a customer prioritization map and more strategic deployment of sales resources by transitioning from a product-oriented sales team to a value-add solution provider. We identified opportunities estimated to provide overall improvement of more than 5% in gross margin, with low-performing sales representatives expected to improve gross margins by as much as 30%.
  • Digital transformation. A leading U.K.-based OEM asked L.E.K. to benchmark and assess the competitive threat posed by GE’s Industrial Internet of Things. We provided the client with an overview of the investments GE has been making in software and of the fundamental strategic shift it represents in GE’s approach to differentiating and sustaining margin in its service business. After mapping the potential impact on the client’s business, L.E.K. provided strategic recommendations on how the business could compete in the evolving technological market landscape.
  • Portfolio optimization. A leading explosives manufacturer and distributor possessed more than 2,000 SKUs, of which 30% were responsible for 80% of company profit and 30% were losing money. The client asked L.E.K. to assess which SKUs could be eliminated or repriced without leading to the loss of valuable product baskets. We used advanced data analytics to measure the strength of product bundling, to keep low-value SKUs with high-value associations in the portfolio while repricing or eliminating low-association, unprofitable SKUs.
  • Advanced analytics. In the face of major profitability challenges, a leading construction contractor engaged L.E.K. to undertake a detailed diagnostic of its historical performance and plot a path to profitable growth. We deployed advanced analytics on the client’s project database and combined the results with an internal capability audit and an assessment of key market trends to provide the client with insight into the true drivers of its profitability for the first time. We identified and prioritized a suite of performance improvement initiatives that enabled the client to refocus its business and drive profitable growth.
Read More

How do we help clients achieve high-impact results?

Learn about how we can help you with your Industrials needs.