关键点 

  • 要想成功地使敏捷转型全面铺开,企业必须进行深层彻底的组织变革。L.E.K.建议采用由内而外的转型方法,分三个阶段进行:首先对文化转变进行评估,其次解决变革的结构性障碍,最后在组织中广泛推广
     
  • 量身定制一个敏捷工作模型(AWM)是敏捷转型旅程中的一个关键步骤,它可以作为中心参考点,为关键决策提供指导
     
  • 敏捷的实施要求企业必须为变革管理制定详细周密的计划并加以执行。变革管理应该包含五个主要元素:全面实施方案设计、领导层参与、沟通、能力发展、实施情况记录追踪
     
  • 全面实施敏捷的关键成功因素包括:清晰的商业案例、从试点中汲取经验教训、量身定制敏捷工作模型(AWM)、由内而外的铺开、推动变革管理和迅速实施

 

在L.E.K.领袖视角企业转型系列首发的《组织变革(Ⅰ):敏捷转型的价值》一文中,我们对敏捷如何对企业产生巨大助益进行了全面阐述,包括敏捷将会对企业员工的工作方式、组织设计带来的变化以及关键的敏捷促成因素。

在“绿地”环境中部署敏捷时必须认真思考、谨慎执行。而在大型企业环境中,由于所受约束更多,敏捷的部署将会更加复杂。引入敏捷工作方式意味着企业运作方式的各个维度都会发生不同程度的变化,企业则必须对这些变化加以管理,避免让正在进行的活动受到干扰。


本期《领袖视角》中,我们将分享L.E.K.与大型企业在制定和执行敏捷转型项目方面的经验,摆脱照本宣科的方式,根据企业的具体情况量身定制不同的实施方案。

制定敏捷推广模型

在实施敏捷工作方式时,企业首先要考虑的是制定整体的推广模型。许多公司理所当然更倾向于循序渐进的方法,从试点项目开始,而不是一开始就“大举轰炸”。这样做的目的是为了尽量减少干扰,从试点中吸取经验教训,创建并不断调整工作模型,以适应企业的特定需求。


企业通常更倾向于将类似“绿地”的环境作为试点,因为在这样的试点中企业能够轻易且快速套用教科书式的敏捷方法,对企业其他部分的干扰也能降到最低。这样的安排的确能够使各个试点快速推进并看到成果,但后续将敏捷方法扩大到更广泛的组织时就会面临极大挑战。随着试点逐渐扩张并触及到组织中非敏捷的部分,敏捷方法的实施往往会遇到结构性障碍,要想解决就必须对更广泛的组织文化、结构和流程进行改变。

敏捷实施的典型方法是提倡基于试点将敏捷流程循序渐进地在组织中全面推出。然而在实践中,这种策略并不是最优的,因为它忽略了思维转变的必要性,也没有解决结构性障碍。L.E.K.认为单向地为团队提供方法、工具和流程是不足以让组织发生改变的,敏捷方法的成功铺开需要更深层彻底的改变。在这里,我们强烈推荐另外一种由内而外的以文化为起点的转型方法(图1)。

  • 对必须做出的文化转变进行评估:敏捷转型不仅要求企业要有明确的目标,还要求企业上下对达到目标状态所需的文化和思维方式的转变有着统一的理解。一些大型的等级分明的组织发现他们在实施敏捷方法的某些关键环节上面临困难,这些环节往往涉及分散决策权,或者要求企业习惯于成果迭代而非预先明确定义好的结果和路径。
     
  • 解决文化转变可能遇到的结构性障碍:组织的文化源于其组织架构层面的选择。因此,要顺利完成文化转变以全面实施敏捷方法,企业必须移除结构上的障碍。一个典型的例子是在管理层级中某些职位会承担人员管理和内容管理两方面的角色,尤其是在高级业务部门或部门领导中。虽然这种组织设置能够成功支持瀑布式工作方法,但它阻碍了敏捷开发团队的自主权,分散了内容领导者(产品负责人)的焦点,让他们不能专注于为客户开发最好的产品,转而被卷入人力资源管理相关的事宜中。正确的解决方案通常是在组织中将内容管理和人员管理的职责明确分开。
     
  • 敏捷工作方式在组织中全面推行:解决关键结构性障碍并开始文化转变之后,即可在组织中全面推行敏捷工作模型

设计最佳敏捷工作模型

在敏捷转型过程中,制定合适的敏捷工作模型(AWM)非常关键。敏捷工作模型(AWM)将作为中心参考点,为关键决策提供指导。用于全面推行敏捷工作方式的教科书式的框架(例如:LeSS、SAFe)最初是为软件行业构建的,通常太过模糊。而不同行业的大公司的组织和企业情况又十分复杂,他们在推行敏捷工作方法的过程中必须考虑到所有维度,这种传统的框架根本不足以帮助他们解决所有问题。鉴于众多盲点的存在,专注于培训企业推行敏捷的指导人员可能无法发现或解决敏捷推广过程出现的所有问题,从而失去管理层的信任。当涉及到如何取得管理层的支持时,敏捷实施过程中做出的选择要考虑到结构层面的限制,而且对这些选择须加以记录,以便在整个组织中保持一致。

在为一个工业客户提供这方面的咨询服务时,我们通过与敏捷培训人员合作来观察和了解阻碍敏捷工作方式在组织内广泛推行的原因。我们对观察结果进行了记录,并据此制定了一个包含关键决策并能从五个维度提供明确指导的框架(图2)。

在一个组织内,不同部门之间的要求可能存在显著差异,这是由于不同部门在产品的技术复杂性、所需技能、与其他部门互动的程度以及是否启用外部第三方等方面都存在不同。“一刀切”的解决方案可能并不存在。因此,在大多数情况下,敏捷工作模型(AWM)在为关键决策提供清晰且一致的指导方针(例如:敏捷角色和职责的描述)的同时还要保留一定程度的灵活性,以便根据特殊情况来处理次级决策相关的问题。对于这些针对具体情况的决策,敏捷工作模型(AWM)能够提供针对关键维度提供指导。例如,在考虑“地点设置”时,建议让团队在同一地点工作,但出于某些实际操作、预算或合同原因,可能需要团队分散在不同地点工作。

这些指导方针在促进敏捷工作模型(AWM)的实施和敏捷在整个组织中的扩展的同时还具备一定程度的灵活性。敏捷工作模型(AWM)的主要构成部分都是通过以下方式来进行考量和定义的:

  • 目标敏捷工作模型(AWM)的结构化分析,试点结果汇总
  • 评估调整敏捷工作模型(AWM),以适应企业需求;或者制定额外的指导方针以填补现有敏捷理论中的“空白”
  • 制定完整的敏捷“手册”,对组织的敏捷工作模型(AWM)进行记录和编撰,为广泛的推行做好准备

保证动态的敏捷工作模型(AWM)至关重要;不同的敏捷方案或者团队之间的知识共享(例如:通过Scrum敏捷专家圆桌会议)也是一个重要的成功因素,能够基于敏捷团队的不断学习和/或不断发展的企业需求实现敏捷工作模型(AWM)的迭代优化。

通过强有力的变革管理深入推进

要想成功地实施敏捷,就必须对变革管理进行全面周密的计划并加以执行,变革管理计划包括五个主要元素(图3)。对计划的设计、实施和不断调整进行投资是至关重要的,企业还应该采取措施确保新的工作模型顺利嵌入以完成文化转变、减少对企业运营的干扰。

1. 推行新的组织架构和流程的时机和顺序

对许多组织来说,在所有部门同时开展敏捷转型计划可能会导致局面过于复杂和混乱,为了避免出现这种情况,企业可采用循序渐进的方式。为了加快对整个组织的积极影响,企业有必要对敏捷在每个部门的目标助益和实施的便利性进行评估,优先在综合条件最为有利的部门推进。其中关键的一点是:根据各个部门之间的相关性决定推行顺序,以尽量减少采用不同敏捷工作模型(AWM)的部门之间的摩擦。

虽然任何推行过程的确切时长和规划都取决于组织,但我们相信,在现有资源、变革管理能力、培训和指导能力的允许的情况下,尽快推行是有好处的。快速推行能够让企业一鼓作气地完成转变过程,克服组织惰性。

2. 领导层参与推动必要的文化转变 

敏捷工作方式的成功实施要求管理层做出包括时间在内的极大投入,以领导文化转变。此外,与传统组织中的管理角色相比,敏捷环境中的领导者角色将被极大程度地重新定义。企业需要一个更扁平化、更以团队为导向的结构,并且随着传统结构的扁平化,总体管理角色也会减少。

因此,在设计目标运营模式的初期阶段,高级管理人员的参与以及整个过程中的领导力培训是获得管理层支持并促使领导力推动文化转变的关键。

3. 沟通的时机、形式和信息

制定全面的沟通计划也是一个关键的成功因素,沟通计划能够使组织向着共同的目标保持一致,并分享这些目标的实施进展。沟通计划所包含的信息必须保持一致,在敏捷转型开始前就要定期开展,并贯穿整个转型过程。沟通计划的起点应该是创建一个联合的激励目标和一个有信服力的案例,这一案例需要指出现有模式的主要缺陷,并通过详细阐述新模式如何带来助益证明敏捷转型的必要性。

4. 发展符合敏捷工作模型(AWM)要求的能力

与传统的瀑布式开发方法相比,敏捷的工作方式需要不同的能力组合。及时发展这些能力是确保敏捷转型成功的关键因素之一。为了保证相关能力满足需求,企业需要为每种类型的角色定义清晰的胜任要求,通过比对现有员工层面的能力确定需要弥补哪些方面的差距,然后针对特定角色制定相应的培训和指导路径。尽管技能培养和个人发展的原则在敏捷模式中根深蒂固,但大规模的敏捷转型可能需要外部招聘。

5. 跟踪执行进度和预期助益的实现程度

最后,敏捷转型的成功需要有效的机制来跟踪执行进度和预期助益的实现程度。这样才能更快地帮助团队对计划进行改进,帮助产品负责人更好地评估交付团队的表现,还能够分别从团队和整体层面来对转型进程进行透明化管理。

通过与敏捷试点和优秀的敏捷培训人员的合作,L.E.K.制定了一套可进行敏捷健康检查的自我评估工具。这套工具能够根据组织的具体情况量身定制,旨在帮助评估敏捷工作模型(AWM)各方面的推进工作。

确保敏捷全面实施的关键成功因素

根据L.E.K.以往敏捷转型的项目经验,我们发现了六个关键成功因素:

  1. 制定清晰的商业案例以获得高级管理层的支持
  2. 将类似“绿地”的环境作为试点和起始点,并从中吸取经验
  3. 根据企业的实际情况量身定制敏捷工作模型(AWM),而不是简单复制教科书式的方法
  4. 由内而外地推行,从文化转变和解决组织结构障碍开始
  5. 制定全面的变革管理计划,由高级领导层推动
  6. 在组织中快速广泛地推行敏捷工作模型(AWM),并持续跟踪计划进展

在这些成功因素中,前四个最为关键:商业案例能够为组织艰难的决定提供支持,试点能够帮助企业尽早了解什么样的做法是真正有用的,量身定制的敏捷工作模型(AWM)则能够使组织从中获得最大利益,同时消除不容忽视的组织结构的限制。

这些经验能够帮助领导团队很好地将敏捷作为一种方法论来推动组织变革,亦可作为一种策略来加快产品上市,还能帮助企业克服大型复杂的组织中普遍存在的限制,充分利用数字技术和解决方案所带来的机遇。

编者按:慕尼黑分公司副董事Michael Ringleb和伦敦分公司合伙人Aubry Pierre亦对本文有贡献。

相关洞见

Key takeaways

  • Successfully scaling agile requires a deep, DNA-level organisational change. L.E.K. recommends an inside-out transformation approach in three stages: evaluate cultural shift,  address structural barriers to change, then rollout to the broader organisation
     
  • Creating a tailored agile working model (AWM) is a critical step in the agile transformation journey, to serve as the central reference point and provide guidance on key decisions
     
  • Agile implementations require careful planning and execution of a holistic change management programme encompassing five main elements: rollout design, leadership engagement, communication, competency development and implementation tracking
     
  • Key success factors for an agile implementation at scale include a clear business case, learning from pilots, a customised AWM, scaling inside-out, driving change management and a rapid rollout

 

Our previous Executive Insights, Agile Transformation, Part 1: Unlocking the Benefits of Agile, explains how agile can yield significant benefits when introduced holistically, with accompanying changes to ways of working and organisational design, and the adoption of important agility enablers.

This requires serious thought and effort when applied to a greenfield environment, and is even more complex within the constraints of a large corporation. The introduction of agile ways of working necessitates change along many dimensions that define the way a business operates, and this change needs to be managed in a way that avoids disrupting ongoing activities.

In this Executive Insights, we share our experience of working with large corporations to develop and execute agile transformation programmes, going beyond traditional textbook approaches to provide implementation options and support approaches tailored to the specific business context.

Defining the model for agile rollout

A primary consideration when adopting agile ways of working is defining the overall rollout model. Rightfully so, many corporates prefer a sequenced approach, starting with pilot projects rather than a ‘big bang’, in a bid to minimise disruption, generate learnings from pilots, and iteratively create and adjust the working model to their specific requirements.

Corporates typically prefer greenfield-like environments for pilots to facilitate fast and easy application of textbook agile methodologies, and to minimise disruption to other parts of the business. While this yields rapid progress and results for the individual pilots, scaling to the broader organisation then becomes the key challenge. As pilots grow and gain exposure to non-agile parts of the organisation, they tend to hit structural barriers, requiring change to the culture, structure and processes of the broader organisation.

Figure 1
Approach to agile transformation

The textbook approach to agile implementation advocates for a consecutive rollout of agile processes into the broader organisation by scaling agile pilots. In practice, however, this strategy is suboptimal, as it ignores the necessity for a mindset shift and does not resolve structural barriers. At L.E.K. Consulting, we believe that an organisation won’t change if teams are simply presented with methods, tools and processes. Successfully scaling of agile requires a deeper, DNA-level change, and we strongly recommend an inside-out transformation approach, starting with culture (see Figure 1).

  • Evaluate required cultural shift: It is essential to not only have clear business targets for the agile transformation but also to have a unified understanding of the culture and mindset shift required to reach the target state. Large, hierarchical organisations find it particularly hard to adopt some of the key aspects of agile that require decentralised decision-making and comfort with reiterative outcome development rather than upfront agreement on a desired outcome and a clearly defined path.
     
  • Address structural barriers to cultural change: The culture of an organisation derives from its organisational choices. Consequently, a successful cultural shift to implement agile across an organisation necessitates the removal of structural impediments. A typical example is the combination of people leadership and content leadership in the same roles across the management hierarchy, especially senior business unit or department lead roles. While this organisational set-up supports a successful waterfall development approach, it impedes the autonomy of agile development teams and reduces the focus of the content leader (the product owner), who should focus on the development of the best product for the customer, rather than be involved in human capital development. The right solution therefore is often to implement a clear organisational separation of content responsibility and people management responsibility.
     
  • Roll out processes to the broader organisation: Once the key structural barriers are addressed and the cultural shift is initiated, the new agile working model can be rolled out to the broader organisation.

Designing an optimum agile working model

Defining a suitable agile working model (AWM) is a critical step in the agile transformation journey. The AWM serves as the central reference point, providing guidance on key decisions. Textbook frameworks for scaling agile (e.g. LeSS, SAFe) are often too vague, were built for the software industry and fail to offer concrete answers for all the dimensions that need to be considered in the complex organisational and business context of major corporations in different industry sectors. Given these blind spots, agile coaches, who focus on training an organisation in the application of working methods, may fail to properly identify and resolve all the issues that arise and consequently often lose the confidence of management. When it comes to achieving and retaining buy-in from management, the choices made to implement agile need to be considered in light of structural constraints and then documented so they can be applied consistently across the organisation.

Working with an industrial client, we teamed up with agile coaches to observe and understand their friction points in the broader organisational context. We documented their learnings and used it to define a framework that captures key decisions and provides definitive guidance on five dimensions (see Figure 2).

Figure 2
Agile working model

Within an organisation, business requirements may differ significantly across business units as a result of the technical complexity of products, availability of required skills, level of interaction with other departments and the use of external parties. As a consequence, a universal solution may not exist. The AWM therefore needs to provide clear, consistent guidelines for key decisions in most cases (e.g. description of agile roles and responsibilities) while retaining a degree of flexibility for individual initiatives to address a subset of decisions based on their unique circumstances. For these situation-specific decisions, the AWM should offer guidance regarding the key dimensions to consider. For example, when considering ‘location set-up’, a full co-location is recommended, but some pilots may, for unrelated practical, budget or contractual reasons, need to choose virtual co-location.

The existence of these guidelines provides flexibility while facilitating a rollout of the AWM and scaling of agile across the organisation. All major building blocks of the AWM are considered and defined through:

  • Structured analysis of the target AWM and codification of learnings from pilots
  • Evaluation of the need to adjust the AWM to the business requirements, or to develop additional guidelines to cover ‘white spaces’ in the established agile theory
  • Development of a comprehensive agile ‘playbook’ to codify the organisation’s AWM ready for broad rollout

Ensuring the AWM remains dynamic is key; knowledge sharing across different agile initiatives or teams (e.g. through scrum master roundtables) is a crucial success factor, enabling iterative refinement of the AWM based on the continuous learning of agile teams and/or evolving business requirements.

Embedding evolution with a powerful change management programme

A successful agile implementation requires careful planning and execution of a holistic change management programme encompassing five main elements (see Figure 3). Investment in designing, implementing and continuously adapting this complex programme is critical, and measures to ensure the new working model is embedded — to complete the cultural shift and to minimise disruption to business operations — must also be deployed.

Figure 3
Five key elements of change management

1. Timing and sequencing for the rollout of new structure and processes

The simultaneous implementation of an agile transformation programme across all business units may be deemed too complex and disruptive for many organisations, with a sequenced rollout approach favoured. To expedite positive impact across the organisation, it is necessary to assess the target benefits and ease of implementation for each individual unit, prioritising rollout for those with the most favourable profile. Critically, interdependencies between individual business units should determine the rollout sequence to minimise friction between units with different AWMs.

While the exact length and planning of any rollout process is dependent on the organisation, we believe there are merits to rolling out as fast as possible within the constraints of available resources and capacity for transformation management, training and coaching. This enables transformation to gain momentum and overcome organisational inertia.

2. Leadership involvement to drive required cultural shift

Successful implementation of agile ways of working requires significant management commitment, including time commitment, to lead the cultural shift. Moreover, the role of the leader is significantly redefined in an agile setting, compared with the management role in a traditional organisation, needing a flatter, more team-orientated structure and a reduction in overall management roles as the traditional hierarchy is flattened.

Early involvement of senior management in designing the target operating model, as well as the provision of leadership coaching along the way, is therefore key to creating buy-in and to enabling leadership to drive the required cultural shift.

3. Timing, format and messaging of communication

The development of a comprehensive communication programme is a critical ingredient of success, aligning the organisation behind shared goals and highlighting progress towards their achievement. The communication programme needs to comprise consistent messages, delivered regularly before the start of the transformation programme and throughout its course. The starting point should be the creation of a joint, motivational purpose and a compelling case for change that highlights the key shortcomings of the existing model, and demonstrates the need for agile by detailing how the new model will deliver benefit.

4. Development of competencies in line with the requirements of the AWM

Agile ways of working require a different set of individual competencies than the traditional waterfall development approach. Ensuring timely development of these competencies is one of the key enablers for any successful agile transformation. To ensure competencies meet the requirements, businesses need to define clear competency requirements for each type of role, map existing competencies at an employee level and identify the competency gaps that need to be closed, and then define role-specific training and coaching paths required. While the principles of skill adoption and personal development are firmly rooted in agile, a large-scale transformation may require external recruiting.

5. Tracking implementation progress and delivery of expected benefits

Finally, successful implementation of agile transformation requires effective mechanisms to track implementation progress and the delivery of benefits. Tracking helps teams improve faster, enables product owners to better evaluate the performance of delivery teams, and provides management with transparency on transformation progress at both the team and overall levels.

In collaboration with agile pilots and leading agile coaches, L.E.K. developed an Agile Health Check Self-Assessment Tool, which helps assess progress across all dimensions of an AWM and can be tailored to suit each organisation.

Key success factors to ensure successful agile implementation at scale

Based on experience with multiple agile transformation projects, L.E.K. has identified the six principal factors that underpin successful delivery:

  1. Develop a clear business case to secure senior management support
  2. Start with and learn from pilots in a greenfield-like environment
  3. Define a customised AWM for your specific business situation, rather than follow a textbook approach
  4. Scale inside-out, starting from cultural shift and addressing organisational barriers
  5. Introduce a holistic change management programme, driven by senior leadership
  6. Roll out the AWM fast to the wider organisation and track progress consistently

Of these success factors, the top four are the most critical. The benefits case will carry the organisation through the tough choices to be made, pilots are essential in understanding what’s working and what isn’t early in the process, and a tailored AWM will enable the organisation to reap maximum agile benefits while addressing constraints that cannot be ignored.

Following these lessons will enable leadership teams to leverage agile as a methodology for driving organisational transformation, and as a strategy to increase speed to market; overcome the constraints endemic in large and complex organisations; and leverage the opportunities presented by digital technologies and solutions.

Editor’s note: Agility Part 2: Tackling the Challenges of Scaling was written by Karin von Kienlin, Sebastian OlbertMichael Ringleb and Vassilis Economidis. Aubry Pierre also contributed to this article.

Related Insights