21世纪即将进入第三个十年,移动出行领域的结构性变革持续加速。快速革新的基础科技正在不断融合,并以越来越创新和实用的方式推动着移动出行商业模式的不断发展。

汉莎航空创新中心的报告显示,目前在移动出行领域活跃的初创企业有2500家,其中22家领先企业的总估值高达2300亿美元。1正在市场中流通的电动汽车数量则高达数百万,款式超过150种。2

在开展相关工作时,我们强调移动出行领域中的六大颠覆性趋势(图1),这些趋势互联互通,它们将共同为移动出行生态系统带来彻底的改变。

这些颠覆性趋势引发了五个关键的系统性问题,而它们将决定移动出行作为一种经济系统和社会基础设施在未来5年甚至更长远的发展方向。

整合出行平台

正如以卖书起家,如今发展成为无所不包的电商巨头亚马逊一样,移动出行的行业参与者也正在争相发展平台业务,充分利用与消费者建立起来的直接关系出售各类相关的解决方案(包括自有服务的提供和第三方服务的转售)。行业参与者对路径的选择也不尽相同。

滴滴和优步,这些平台中估值最高、发展最好的两家。它们都以具有颠覆性的叫车服务起家,并且此后也都充分利用自己的客户基础、基础设施和现金流延伸出一系列其他解决方案,例如共享单车、公共汽车、外卖等,甚至包括无人与空中移动设备。

另一个例子是以多模式导航和信息服务起家的CityMapper,如今它已经实现多元化发展,在伦敦某块出行服务不足的区域开始试运营班车服务。

另外,Transdev和MaaS Global也推出了城市行囊(Whim)服务。这一平台集私人、共享和公共交通于一体,并将这些全方位的出行服务整合为“出行即服务”的月付订阅包,提供给消费者。

协调公共和私营交通系统

在社会寻求更好、效率更高的移动出行方式时,移动出行创业公司成为了推动市场创新和变革的主力。相对而言,它们具有轻资产、模式灵活和以盈利为导向的特点,这使得它们能够避开需要耗费大量资金的领域,并将目光精准地锁定在最有利可图的空间。

这在微观经济学层面是完全合理的。私营服务取代了公共服务中可盈利的板块,而那些不盈利的和无法在市场中成功的则仍然是公共商品。在大多数情况下,新型出行模式满足了一部分公共交通欠发达地区日渐升高的出行需求。

但是,在公共交通较为发达的城市,未来新型移动出行的发展可能会切实冲击重资产的公共交通系统的体量和经济——为政府带来一个额外的资金缺口。以伦敦交通局(Transport for London)为例,车费收入降低1%就意味着每年约5000万英镑的损失。 3

随着私营移动出行服务规模逐渐扩大,制定相应的规则和义务很有必要。

确保公共交通服务渗透至城市以外的其他区域

如前文所述,新移动出行的发展至今仍集中于人口稠密的超级城市(图2)。尽管这些市场非常重要,但它们所代表的移动出行规模较小,仅占所有潜在需求和总人群面临的挑战中的一小部分。

与郊区和乡村的居民相比,市中心的居民在出行方式上的选择繁多;新型移动出行的发展尚未达到能解决出行资源不均衡问题的程度。

探索商业上可行的经济模式和行之有效的公共政策以推动新型移动出行方式深入郊区和乡村,将会是未来几年中一个事关社会福利的重要挑战。

支持从内燃机到电动化的动力升级

虽然如今的交通和能源系统可以容纳现有规模的电动汽车,但要实现从内燃机到电动化的彻底过渡仍需克服一些挑战。

全球目前的能源网络尚不足以承受电动汽车规模的急速扩张,充电基础设施也十分有限。尽管电动汽车产业正快速发展,但电池成本和产能问题对电动汽车的生产构成了极大的限制。

整车企业仍然在他们的传统框架下展开竞争,和数以百计的创业公司一起做着大量重复性的研发工作。然而,为了打造全球性的电动汽车制造商,完成电动化的动力升级,行业内需要进行进一步整合,并形成联盟。

准备迎接无人驾驶带来的彻底颠覆

电动汽车的发展主要影响的是燃料的使用,对驾驶员、道路、停车空间和使用模式等其他方面并无太大影响。然而无人驾驶汽车则有可能会对整个交通系统产生更大的颠覆。

如此广泛的颠覆将会为监管带来一定程度的挑战。尽管很多地区已经在逐步做出努力,但是政府当局仍然疲于应付这些挑战。

无人驾驶汽车的广泛应用可能还需等上数十年。尽管如此,考虑到所需的交通系统变动程度之大,相关部门应该尽快着手进行长远的城市规划和移动出行相关政策的制定,保证在尽可能减少消极影响的前提下获得潜在的收益。 

应对颠覆

在接下来几十年内,移动出行系统将会在科技、所有权、商业模式和政府管理等方面经历深刻变革。不同的因素将会以不同的速度变化,逐渐颠覆整个交通系统,改变使用模式,并对成本/利润池进行再分配。要实现新型移动出行的应用前景,就必须不断试验、解决问题,公共和私营部门也必须做出投资。


1Lufthansa Innovation Hub — Travel and Mobility Tech Around the Globe, February 2018
2Frost & Sullivan — Global Electric Vehicle Market Outlook, 2018
32017至2018,TFL售票机的收入总计48亿英镑

New Mobility
new mobility graphic
We’re a leading adviser on the commercial impacts of new mobility trends, helping our clients develop winning strategies in a rapidly evolving industry.

相关洞见

Key takeaways

  • Technology- and business model-led mobility disruptions are altering the mobility system almost beyond recognition and giving rise to five key system issues.

  • These system issues — converging mobility platforms, harmonizing public and private systems, ensuring public good reaches beyond urban areas, migrating from internal combustion engines to electric propulsion, and the disruption of autonomous vehicles — will determine the direction of mobility in the years ahead.

  • Different elements will move at different speeds, causing system disruption, changes in usage patterns and redistribution of cost/profit pools.

  • Ongoing experimentation, problem solving and investment by the public and private sectors is required if the promise of new mobility is to be realized.


 

As we approach the end of the decade, the structural changes underway in the mobility sector continue to gather speed. Fast-improving underlying technologies are being combined in increasingly creative and useful ways, powering ongoing innovation in mobility business models.

The Lufthansa Innovation Hub reports that 2,500 startup businesses are active in mobility and counts 22 leading players with a combined valuation of $230 billion. Several million electric vehicles (EVs) are now in circulation, with over 150 available models.

Our work in the sector highlights six interconnected mobility disruptions (see Figure 1), which collectively will alter the mobility system almost beyond recognition.

These disruptions are giving rise to five key system issues, which will determine the direction of mobility as an economic system and a social infrastructure in the next five years and beyond.

Converging mobility platforms

Just as Amazon evolved from selling books to selling everything, mobility players are racing to become platform businesses, leveraging direct customer relationships to sell a wide range of related solutions (both owned and resold from third parties). A number of different routes are being pursued.

Didi and Uber, the most valuable and furthest-progressed of these platforms, each began with a disruptive ride-hailing service and has since leveraged its customer base, infrastructure and cash flow into a wide range of other solutions, including bike sharing, buses, food delivery, and the development of autonomous and airborne mobility solutions.

Another example is CityMapper, which began life as a multimodal wayfinding and information service. It has now diversified into providing shuttle services on a trial basis in an area of London identified as being poorly served.

Finally, the Whim service by Transdev and MaaS Global integrates access to many different transport modes — personal, shared and mass — into mobility-as-a-service subscription bundles (paid monthly).

Harmonizing public and private systems

As society seeks more efficient and effective mobility solutions, entrepreneurial mobility startups are powerful agents of innovation and change. Their comparatively asset-light, flexible models and profit motive result in precise prioritization of the most profitable zones, and deprioritization of costlier areas.

At a microeconomic level this is an entirely rational outcome. Private services take over from public services where they can sustain themselves commercially, leaving uneconomic/market failure services as public goods. In most cases, the volume of new mobility trips is contributing to the management of rising urban mobility demand in areas where public transport is weak.

However, in cities with well-developed public transport, future growth in new mobility services could materially damage the volume and economics of heavy, largely fixed-cost public transport systems — creating an additional funding gap for governments to manage. For example, a 1% decline in Transport for London’s (TFL) fare revenue is on the order of £50 million per year.1

As private mobility services scale, careful consideration of the rules and obligations attached to their participation is necessary.

Ensuring public good reaches beyond urban areas

For the same reasons as above, new mobility development to date has been heavily concentrated in dense, superurban centers (see Figure 2). While important, these areas represent only a small part of the latent mobility needs and challenges facing the overall population.

Residents in major city centers have always been spoiled with choices in their mobility options, compared to those located in suburban and rural areas; new mobility developments have yet to redress that imbalance.

Finding commercially viable economic models and effective public policy models that push new mobility solutions further into suburban and regional/rural zones will be an important public welfare challenge in the years ahead.

Supporting the migration from internal combustion engines to electric propulsion

While electric vehicles can be readily integrated into the transport and energy system at their current scale, several challenges need to be overcome before we see a wholesale transition.

The world’s energy grids remain poorly equipped to deal with an expanding EV fleet, and charging infrastructure is limited. Battery costs and manufacturing capacity also remain serious limitations on EV production, though this is a fast-moving space.

Automobile OEMs continue to compete within their traditional framework, with heavy duplication of electric R&D effort across them and hundreds of startups. Further consolidation and alliances are necessary to create the global-scale EV OEMs required for the transition.

Preparing for the profound disruption of autonomous vehicles

While EVs primarily impact fuel and impose little change on other dimensions, such as drivers, roads, parking space and usage patterns, autonomous vehicles present much greater disruptive potential for the system as a whole.

This wider system disruption will create a level of regulatory challenge that public authorities remain ill-equipped to cope with, despite progressive efforts in a number of geographies.

It is likely to be a number of decades in most places before autonomous vehicles reach mass adoption. Despite this, because of the magnitude of the system change required, careful long-range urban and mobility policy planning must start now, to ensure the potential benefits are fully realized with as little disruption and as few negative impacts as possible.

Navigating disruption

In the coming decades, mobility systems will undergo profound changes in technology, ownership and business models, and governance controls. Different elements will move at different speeds, causing system disruption, changes in usage patterns, and redistribution of cost/profit pools. Ongoing experimentation, problem solving, and investment by the public and private sectors is required if the promise of new mobility is to be realized.


Endnote:
1Farebox revenue for TFL totaled £4.8 billion in 2017-18

Related Insights